Sabrina’s Top 5 Summer Drink Recipes

Summertime is made for drinking, just like all the other seasons. But I tend to be lazy AF during these warmer months, also just like all the other seasons. Anyway, laziness leads to me settling for a simple beer or wine, but I think I deserve better. I deserve to get drunk off edible alcohol served on a platter like it’s some kind of magical hors d’oeuvre. And so do you, so here are some recipes for extra-special summertime drinks that will motivate you to stop settling for that tall can.

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 3.41.38 PM.png
MQ not living up to our full drink potential.

 

5. Sangria/Wine mixers

I don’t know if “wine mixers” is the correct term for what I’m talking about, but I literally mean ‘wine mixed with other things.’ Sangria is always good and there are a million bazillion recipes for them in the world, BUT… strawberries and blueberries are the BEST berries and that’s why I’d like to give a shout out to this goddess of a sangria recipe.

Another recipe that involves wine mixed with other things is this elegant raspberry limoncello prosecco. It’s extremely easy to make (4 ingredients, yas!). Plus, you get to sound hella fancy when you tell people what you’re drinking.

4. Watermelon + Cucumber

A personal favorite summer flavor combination is watermelon + cucumber, so I decided to google “best watermelon and cucumber cocktail.” I looked through a bunch and this one looked the best by far. It’s called The Firecracker which is great because I was sad that I might not get to experience anymore of those now that 4th of July is already over (holy shit time is moving too fast). Anyway, I really want to drink one of these, like… immediately.

3. SLUSHIES!

Slushies! get an exclamation point because of the childlike excitement I experienced when I realized I can add alcohol to them. One of my favorite cocktails that I never order at a bar because I feel like it’s probably annoying to make is the mojito, so it was love at first sight for me and this slushie. Or, if you really feel like bringing back a childhood icon with an adult twist try The Drunken Barney.

 

mjslush
#gimme

 

2. Piña Colada

Piña Coladas are probably my favorite vacation drink, and I wanted to find the best recipe, so I decided to do a little research. According to the internet, they originated in Puerto Rico in the 50s, created by some bartenders at a Hilton resort. Here’s the “original recipe”, shared proudly by the hotel’s website.

Anyway, after my brief research project on its origins, I wanted to know what kind of twists people are putting on the recipes these days. Turns out there are a ton of recipes for different flavors and… wait for it… PC FLOATS!!!

 

watermel
Cute and delicious at the same time! 

 

1. Jello Shots

Jello shots are number one to me because they’re also food, and they’re squishy! Plus, you can get super creative with jello shots by adding mix ins and molding them into different shapes (even dicks!). Some of the world’s valuable over-achievers have even turned the jello shot into true works of culinary art, all of which I would happily indulge in.

A simple recipe that looks the most delicious in my opinion is this strawberry inside a strawberry. This interesting combination of watermelon and basil had me droolin’ as well.

Bonus drink:

Here’s a drink that I make when I’m not in the mood to get all pinteresty with my alcohol (apparently it’s called a Cuba Libre, but only if the rum is Cuban):

Rum + Coke + Lime juice + Ice

Leave a Reply

