How To Do Christmas in your Twenties

Everyone has different holiday traditions. Some of us celebrate with our exclusively grown up family, our extended family or younger siblings. When you’re in your mid to late twenties, Christmas can mean COMPLETELY different things. Here are four very different mid-twenties Christmas experiences.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS

________________________________________________________________

Name: Sabrina

Age: 26

Where did you celebrate Christmas: Mom’s house then Grandma & Grandpa’s then my Cousin’s house.

What time did you wake up: 9:30

Who woke you up: My dog lol

How many presents did you get?: A lot, I didn’t count lol.

sabrinas-gift

 

How many were practical and how many were fun: Most were practical, there were like 2 or 3 fun ones.

When did you have breakfast and what did you eat?: right after presents, I shared a bowl of leftover curry with my bf.sab-and-ken

How did you spend the afternoon: With my bf’s grandparents eating homemade Portuguese food (SO GOOD) & watching the warriors.

____________________________________________________________

Name: David

Age: 26

Where did you celebrate Christmas We celebrated at my parent’s house [In Yorba Linda].davids-tree


What time did you wake up?
I woke up around 10 by alarm and threw in the pecan rolls I had made the night before and we had some mimosas right away, but then took a break on drinking until going to my aunts at 330 (I’m even about to work out).

How many presents did you get? And how many were practical and how many were fun? We ate around 11, then my parents opened their four presents from me and [my brother] Sean. Me and Sean each got only one present, and it was weeks ago. I got the tv and he got a new computer, so both practical and fun.

davids-breakfast
What an adult christmas breakfast looks like.

 

 

How did you spend the afternoon? And I’ll be spending my afternoon drinking at my aunts hoping to avoid political conversations.

davids-rolls

What do you love about Christmas in your 20s? What do I love about Christmas in my twenties? Making food, drinking, and not taking it seriously at all.

_____________________________________________________________

Name: Ailish

Age: 25

Where are you celebrating Christmas? At my parent’s house in Oakland

What time did you wake up? 7:20ailish-gifts

Who woke you up? My eleven-year-old sister.

How many presents did you get? A fair amount actually, more than I was expecting. More than the three gifts I got last year.

 

How many were practical and how many were fun? A lot were practical. I got a Logitech mouse and a feminist film theory book, but I also got some dope ass socks and a snapback.hoverboards

When did you have breakfast and what did you eat? We didn’t do our usual pancake breakfast because we were having a big lunch later so I just had some eggs and toast.IMG_4993.JPG

How did you spend the afternoon? Well, our afternoon began around 10:30 when I brought my siblings out to test out their new swagtrons (hoverboards). I helped my parents cook and watched the warriors game. Then my friend Nate and I went to see Passengers.

 

_________________________________________________________________

Name: Isabelle

Age: 24

Where did you celebrate Christmas? Christmas Eve- 12pm at my dad’s house, 1pm till 8pm at my aunt’s house on my mom’s side.

What time did you wake up? I woke up at 4am, I think I still have some pre-Christmas jitters despite being an adult but fell back asleep and woke up again at 7:30. My dad didn’t directly wake me up but I heard him getting up to make the traditional Christmas morning whiskey tea.

Processed with VSCO with q7 preset

How many presents did you get? How many were practical and how many were fun? I got around 10 presents, all of them practical. I just asked for stuff I’d never buy my self- sheets, laptop bag, towels.

When did you have breakfast and what did you eat? Didn’t end up having breakfast, mostly ended up snacking on candy until getting to my aunt’s house where I ate my weight in lumpia.

img_1710

What time did you start drinking?  Technically started drinking at 8am, before Ollie [my younger brother] woke up we had to drink Santa’s whiskey (since we leave out whiskey and mince pies for Santa) + the whiskey tea.

How did you spend the afternoon? Spent the afternoon mostly in my pajamas hanging out with family.  Christmas ends up being a 24-hour event for my sister and I since we have to celebrate it twice. Seems like it would be a dream but around 8pm you definitely end up hitting a wall.

img_1716
A family photo attempt.

 

What do you love about Christmas in your 20s?

The thing I love most about Christmas in my 20s is that I still am just as excited for it as when I was 5 years old. Being able to watch my little brother stumble into the living room, still rubbing the sleep out of his eyes and excitedly asking me to read the letter from Santa- I end up feeling his excitement as my own. Despite how much we try to differentiate ourselves from other generations, the wonder of Santa Claus is something that surpasses all of that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

