A Week in the Life of a Grad Student

Monday January 9th, 2017

7:46am I definitely had light nightmares last night because David (bf) and I watched The Blair Watch. I guess that’s a good reason to wake up early and try and get stuff done.

starbucks

12:40 pm Quick Starbucks stop before class. Saw this dude in a hilarious jacket.

12:55 We drove to school and have to make a quick decision of parking at the farther away lot, but one that would definitely have spots, or go to the closer lot that is usually super full at this time. When we drove past the spot counter on the outside said FULL FULL which we’ve both never seen, but we went in any way. Like an act of god, someone pulled out of the first available spot and we literally got the best spot in the lot! Highest risk, Highest reward.

vagina-doodles2:21 Spent a lot of time in class drawing vaginas out of boredom (it’s the first day of class so not much happens besides talking about the syllabus .)

7:33 We went to the bar on campus after class thinking it would be a chill place to relax but it was FULL of 21-year-old bros who had nothing else to do but drink their life way at the bar conveniently located next to their dorm.

Tuesday

1 pm I seriously have the best job. I babysit four of the coolest kids. They’re all between the ages of 3 and 7, which for most people might seem like a handful, but they’re so sweet and smart and nice and hilarious kids that it’s such a breeze. Before I pick up the kids from school I usually organize and pick up their house which is awesome because I just throw on a podcast or an audiobook.

7:15 Every time I make dinner for these kids I always recreate it for myself at home. Tonight I made them these delicious kale chips, and then immediately headed to whole foods to buy some kale and make some on my own.

9:10 Kale chips were bomb AF. I wish I took a picture.

Wednesday

9:45 am My mom sent me the missing part to the espresso machine they refitted me so now I don’t have to blow all my money on lattes and espresso. I can just make them at home which is KEY! I definitely remember how to make lattes from my barista days, but I’m mostly in it for the convenient and constant espresso.

espresso

11 Met my friend on campus to location scout for his thesis this weekend. It’s a cool room and should be super easy to set up.

2:20 pm headed back home to make another espresso. I also thought the class I TA started at 3:10, but it actually starts at 4:10, so I have way more time to relax before going back to school.

6:05 While all the students are finishing up Sunset Blvd the TA’s and the Professor just kicked it outside of the classroom talking about undergrad and movies we like.  Since we’ve all He’s a great professor and teaching this class is gonna be a lot of fun!

8:50 Got out of my comedy pilot class mad early. Another great teacher. I think this semester is gonna be pretty dope.

Thursday

9:35 am I woke up kinda early to finish the second half of this movie I’ve been putting off for a few days. For the class I TA there’s a good number of movies on it that I haven’t seen so I’m trying to watch them all before the students watch them so I seem like more of an expert than I am.

1:05 pm I had to stop off at Home Depot before I went to work because the family needs some extra tarps.

6:00 These kids are on a Cindi Lauper binge. I think I’ve listened to She Bop with them more than I have in my entire life. But it’s pretty adorable how well they know it by heart.

10 After packing up all the props I have to bring to set tomorrow the director texted me saying three pretty important props, a grill, gold chain and a gold watch, hadn’t come in the mail yet.  At 10 at night, those things are pretty hard to get. Even harder is they’re needed for the first shot of the day. I found a few props around my apartment that might be able to surface, a chicken and waffles snap back, a watch and a goldish chain because all we really need is for the character to look obnoxiously black.

Friday

7:01 Got my coffee and got to set. Our call time was 7 am and most of the people are already here.

9:12 I found out I’m gonna be an extra in one of the first scenes. I just have one line and otherwise, I just have to look obnoxiously black and take selfies. Easy. I just got my make up done which was cool!selfie

5:35 We finished with set really early which was awesome! I thought we might have to stay until 7, but everyone is really professional and cool so we got our shit done early. I didn’t even have much to do as PD today. Tomorrow will be more, but this was a good first day.

7:10 Since it’s Friday the 13th, David and I decided to watch scary movies. He couldn’t find Halloween on his hard drive so I suggested we watch A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night. He’s in!

9:01 My god that movie was so good! Beautifully shot. Awesome music. Just all around great and fun. It definitely was light on the horror and scares, though. It was more of a romance with a vampire-y subplot. So since it’s early, we’re gonna watch It Follows.

11:26 Holy fucking shit! That movie was definitely scary. It’s essentially a story about STD’s. A girl get’s a sexually transmitted disease where people follow you and kill you until you pass the “disease” on to someone else. It’s fucking terrifying and crazy.

david-ailish

11:27 We turned on Jackass because that shit was so scary!

Saturday

8:10 Set day two! We’re shooting on campus which is great, it’s close by to our apartment which is great, but I thought we were shooting at a different building so I was a little late getting to set.

8:50 I have to run home to get DVD’s because the director forgot them. Thank god I live close.

office

2:10 Shooting is going really well so far. I helped design a production office which was fun. Some of the PA’s helped out too and made it look really good. The actors are all super funny, it’s blast to watch.

6:15 We got out early again!! This is great, what a dope crew!

8:10 For one of our classes we have to create a comedy tv show which is awesome and I’m super excited about mine. David has the same class, but his homework is due today so I’m helping him workshop some ideas and characters so he has a better document.

11:55 We’re literally down to the wire, but we’re pretty much done. It’s crazy to me how helpful you can be with coming up with ideas when it’s not your script. I have no ties to this so I’m just suggesting whatever and seeing what he likes. Honestly, though it’s a pretty fun script and I think it’ll be fun for him to write.

Sunday

6:30 am Yeah I know I’m up dumb early. I read this blog where this girl was explaining her tips on getting up earlier and one of them was don’t touch the snooze. Just get up and start your day. So I thought I’d try that today.

7:06 I like to plan out all the tweets on Sunday so I went to Starbucks and just looked at cool articles online and saved some pictures. It was honestly pretty nice. The Starbucks was mad empty and I love going outside first thing so it was great!

8:00 Got to set super on time today! I was having a bit of anxiety about how we’re gonna stage one of the sets so I wanted to get there with enough time to figure it out if something goes wrong.

8:40 So essentially we were trying to figure out a way to block the LMU letters in this office. We put up an easel and out a photo on the easel, but it looked kind of weird. Then, because we’re all so scared of defacing school property and didn’t try this first, we realized we could just take off the letters and it was fine. I dressed up the area wit hone of the PA’s to make it look fuller and it turned out pretty well.

set-lyfe4:50 pm We’re on the last sequence right now. I think we could be done in the next hour or so which is solid. It’s been a super fun set and I’ve totally learned a lot. The crew is awesome and really fun to work with. It’s a cool mix of LMU students and other people. I think the smartest part about this set is that it’s small. There aren’t a lot of unnecessary people hanging around. I’m definitely ready to go home and hang out/finish the homework assignments I have. I’m sure most people here are feeling similarly.

Welp. That’s pretty much it. A kind of regular week in the life of a grad student. Thankfully it was the first week of the semester so it wasn’t heavy on the homework. We’ll check back in half way through the semester.

-Ailish

Leave a Reply

