#TBT Becoming a Woman

 

This is a story I wrote a couple of years ago. It’s a story about me becoming a woman. I didn’t realize it at the time, but looking back it was a pretty pivotal moment.

 

Every girl knows the moment when they truly became a woman. For some, it’s the day they lose their virginity. For some, it’s the day they get cat called. Everyone has their own moment.

 

Mine was neither of those. It happened when I was thirteen and I was in Macy’s.

 

Before going to Macy’s I went to my favorite bookstore, just to casually browse the new teen fiction section. Maybe I would finally buy that Go Ask Alice book everyone seemed to have read or start the Gossip Girl series.

 

A weird fact about me: bookstores excite me. Not just your regular run of the mill “I’m super stoked be add a new book to my collection” or “I can’t wait to be swept away by this story I’m about to purchase.”

 

No, for me going to a book store was it was like there were a bunch of teenage butterflies circa 2013 in my stomach who had just won front row tickets to One Direction. That kind of excited. Excited in my bathing-suit area.

 

I tell you that to set you up for the second part of the story. The bookstore was not where I became a woman.
There was nothing particularly special about that day or my reason for shopping. But little did I know it would be a very important day for me coming into womanhood.

 

It wasn’t the day I got my period for the first time and I already had my first kiss. It was something much more important.

 

I was walking through the overly expensive new bikini section looking for what I thought might be the perfect summer suit. Something that would stand out and be different from any other girl. I did NOT want to accidentally match with anyone. (My ultimate worst nightmare) Maybe something brown? Maybe I should mismatch my top and bottom? People seem to be doing that these days.

 

As a grabbed what I thought was a cute brown stripped bikini top, I felt a fart coming on. I looked around to see if I was alone. I was, for the most part, there were just a few people in the section over. Still, though, you can never be too careful.

 

I tried to hold it in, but my body had other plans. What came out of me was not the fart I was familiar with. It was tiny and didn’t even come from my normal fart hole. I was shocked at this weird unexplainable sensation. What just happened to my body?

 

I didn’t realize it at the time, but that was my very first queef. Also known as the day I truly became a woman.

 

Leave a Reply

